Debating Teams

Debating Teams

Debating Teams 150 150 Simon Whitlock

Two of our debating teams competed in the Auckland Schools Debating Octo-finals (top 16 teams) on Tuesday 30 July at St Cuthbert’s College.

Our Advanced Open team (Ano Chitando, Vinodhini Murali, Huthaifa Ibrahim) lost to St Dominic’s in a very close and spirited debate. MRGS was negating the moot ‘This house believes that social studies should focus on current affairs instead of history.

Our Senior Open team (Hannah Armstrong, Nesil Satani and Simar Bains) debated against Mahurangi and successfully affirmed the moot “This house believes that female sports teams should strike to achieve equal pay to their male counterparts” and our Senior Open team is now through to the quarter finals.

On Saturday 27 July we had two junior teams competing at the Auckland School’s Debating Junior Championship. The students represented us well!
Pictured are (left to right back row) Layba Zubair, Manya Goswami, Pranav Kumar, Lydias Yong, Karen Wang, (front row) Jastej Anand, Mahreen Dossa, Racey Ferris.